Minor Requirements

REEES is an interdisciplinary program that promotes the study of Russia, Eastern Europe, and Eurasia. The REEES minor allows for a great deal of flexibility. Students can pursue a concentration in either Russian Language, Literature, and Culture (Humanities) or Russian and East European History, Politics, and Society (Social Sciences).

At the core of the program is the study of the Russian language (available through the fifth year). By the end of their studies in REEES, students will have developed:

  • Proficiency in reading, writing, and speaking Russian consistent with completion of at least a third-year level.
  • A broad general understanding of the region of Russia, Eastern Europe, and Eurasia, including its history and culture.
  • More specialized competency in the field of concentration consistent with the disciplinary expectations of that field.

The minor in REEES requires 24 graded credits with a of C- or better, plus the language requirement.

Language Requirements

Students must complete three years of one Slavic language. Credits used to fulfill the language requirement may not be applied to the 36-credit requirement. Students typically study Russian, but may petition to substitute one year of another Slavic language.

Heritage speakers or those who have previously studied Russian may meet the language requirement for graduation in various ways, including testing. Read more about pathways to show proficiency.

Course Requirements

Students in the program need to complete 24 credits in addition to the courses taken for the language requirement. At least 12 of the credits should be in their field of concentration and 12 should be electives. 

Field of concentration credits: Students must complete 12 credits of upper-division courses in either a humanities or social science concentration. All of these credits must be upper-division, with at least 4 credits at the 400-level.

Elective credits: Students must complete 12 credits in REEES electives. 

Transfer students can apply 8 credits, or two 4-credit courses, from outside institutions. Only 4 transfer credits can be counted toward the field of concentration.